Psalm 97:10-12 9/6/16

IBS

9/6/16

Psalm 97:10-12

“Let those who love the Lord hate evil, for he guards the lives of his faithful ones and delivers them from the hand of the wicked. Light shines on the righteous and joy on the upright in heart. Rejoice in the Lord, who are righteous, and praise his holy name.”

Thank you for making this verse stick out to me Lord. Please teach me, I’m here, and I’m listening.

The writer of this Psalm is left unsaid and I like that. If it said David wrote it, I would be inclined to say it easy for him to talk about “faithful ones” and the “upright in heart” because, though he made his fair share of mistakes, David was considered a “man after God’s own heart.” But this Psalm reveals no writer at the beginning so its left anonymous. I don’t have any excuse.

“Let those who love the Lord hate evil.”
That would be so much easier if
Righteousness was remotely easy to act out
As wickedness is now what’s accepted as civil.
Accepted by the world as standard.
Standards lowered until nonexistent.
Nonexistent commitments to God’s foundations.
Foundations in the Lord are seen as insufficient.

The Lord says those who love me should hate evil.
As soon as my eyes open in the morning,
Why is it that I must fight so hard to hate that very evil?
Joy quickly drying out, turning to mourning.

Sin is hard to hate, as it is my appetitive nature.
It’s much harder to love Him who is greater.
So in turn I do what I hate,
And what I know I should do I don’t, sealing my fate.

But, “He guards the lives of his faithful ones,”
“And delivers them from the hand of the wicked.”
The beauty is, that though the fight against wickedness is raging
I’m not alone in the honorable fight against my flesh daily waging.

The Lord guards my life so long as I seek his help.
Seeking the Lord in those moments is just the start.
As his Word promises, light shines on the righteous
And joy on the upright in heart.

It’s hard when I look at my own life,
And see not the slightest hint of righteousness.
Then I remember Romans 3:10.
“There is no one righteous, not even one,” and I’m reminded again.

It’s not about me, but the one who created me
It’s not my deeds, but the one who loves me,
The one who credited to me his own righteousness,
To give me life and rid me of my lawlessness.

Therefor, I am righteous.
Not because of me, but because he is gracious.
I’m no longer hopeless, joyless, or loveless.
But because of His sacrifice, with him I share in oneness.

He takes my sin and gives me grace.
He tells me to seek his face.
Your face Lord I will seek.
You are strong when I am weak.

I will rejoice in the Lord,
I will praise His holy name.
I give thanks because I am now made righteous.
Not because of me, but because of him who is most gracious.

Don’t you see?
It’s not about me and you
It’s not about what we can do.
It’s about how we were made brand new

He gave us life and truth
That no matter what I’m going through,
He has my back, Lord thank you!
You’ll never leave me but you’ll always pursue.

Lord I love you, give me strength to hate evil.
Give me speed to flee from the punishable.
Guard my life and deliver me from wickedness
In your hands, Lord, help me stay malleable.

Thank you for making me righteous,
That light may shine on me.
Thank you for holding my heart upright
That I may have joy and be set free.

To you I will rejoice always.
I will praise you who are near and never far.
Not just for what you’ve done,
But because of who you are.

Application: I am not righteous. But because of Jesus I am. So this verse is more than applicable to me. It’s so hard to hate evil. But the Lord “guards the lives of his faithful ones and delivers them from the hand of the wicked.” As I get closer to the Lord he helps me see just how wicked my sin is. He helps me better identify what is of Him and what is not. Lord, please give me strength to hate evil. I want to be faithful to you. Help me practice your presence, as the realization of your presence is the greatest weapon I have to use against the enemy.

How: Today I wrote “Presence” on my hand. I read Psalm 114 today as well and it speaks of trembling in the presence of God’s mighty presence. Realizing He’s there. He’s here. He is always with me. So today, when I look at my hand and see “presence” I will be reminded of just how close he is to me. I am in his midst.

 

Thank you Jesus. It is because of you that that is possible.

Leave a Reply

