Hebrew 4:16 8/19/16

IBS

8/19/16

Hebrews 4:16

“Let us than approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

I’m ready to listen Lord.

Just before verse 16, Paul tells the Hebrews of the great high priest we have in Christ Jesus. We have a high priest who can empathize with us. Jesus left the presence of God. He left his heavenly home. He left and came down to earth for his filthy disappointing creation. He lived a life, like you and me. He was “tempted in every way, just as we are,” Paul says. “Yet, he did not sin.” He knows what we are going through. No battle is too tough for him. No battle is new to him, he has already overcome it and is ready to help you and me overcome the same as he did. Paul continues into verse 16 encouraging the Hebrews, with this knowledge, to approach God’s throne with confidence because God is ready to help us. When I sin, often times the last thing I want to do is go to God about it. In my sin I feel that I am so unworthy of God’s love, of his acceptance, of his attention. But the reality is, my first action when I mess up should be to go to God. The truth is I am unworthy of all those things, but that makes Jesus even more beautiful. Because of him I can go before the throne of God. His throne of grace. I can go before the creator of the universe and ask for forgiveness and find restoration. I can receive mercy and find grace and receive help in my time of need. I can receive help from the one true, most powerful God of the universe.

Application: Its hard to go to God when I feel unworthy of his love, but Paul encourages us here that we can, and with confidence because from him radiates grace and mercy. And because he was tempted in every way here on earth, he can best help us through the daily struggles of life.

How: Today I also read Psalm 101. It is a pledge to the Lord on how David will follow the Lord. Verse 2 specifically talks about living a blameless life with a blameless heart. This is impossible for me to carry out, unless my power and help come from the Lord. Today I wrote “blameless heart” on my hand to remind myself throughout the day to go before the Lord’s throne to ask for help to have a blameless heart.

Thank you Lord for your help in my life, every day. Thank you Jesus I can go before your throne with confidence because of your beautiful act of salvation.

Thank you Lord for your grace and mercy and thank you for your never failing help.

Leave a Reply

