2 Corinthians 4:7 8/5/16

IBS

8/5/16

2 Corinthians 4:7

“But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.”

I’m here and ready to listen. Please speak to me Lord.

Paul in his letter to the Corinthians makes a great point in talking about the fact that we are weak as humans but God still chooses to fill us with his power. Paul says, “we have this treasure.” What treasure? Jesus. The power of Christ inside of us. In verse 10 of chapter 4 Paul says we carry, in our bodies, the death of Christ, so that the life of Christ might also be revealed in our bodies. I believe Christ died for my sins after living a perfect life, and then rose from the dead conquering death. I carry the fact that he died and rose for me so that the life of Christ might shine through me. That I might live in a way that reflects Jesus Christ. But this is so hard. Of myself, I am nowhere near an example of Christ. As Paul continues in verse 7, I am a jar of clay. A fragile human. I can’t please God by myself. A jar of clay in it of its self is nothing special. It is only as special as the potter who makes it. Praise the Lord I have the greatest potter who made me and now lives inside of me! As Paul says in verse 7, we have the treasure of Christ in us, passing jars of clay, to show that “this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.” Paul uses perfect imagery to illustrate his point. A clay jar cannot just be beautiful. How did the clay form into a pot? On its own? No, by the potter who put his time and energy into it. The clay cannot be anything by itself it needs the potter to be anything, to be beautiful. The same is true about us. God presents his power in us, mere jars of clay, so that there is not question whose power is actually revealing itself in us. I know, and God knows I know, it’s not my power. This “all-surpassing” power Is from God and not from me!! Praise you Jesus that the power I have to operate in doesn’t have to be my own.

Application: Thank you Lord that you choose to fill me with your spirit, and let me operate in Your power. Though I am a sinner. Unfit to be in your presence. Yet, you choose to fill this jar of clay with your all-surpassing power. Praise you Jesus

How: Today I wrote “Not Mine But Yours” on my hand to remind myself once more that the power I need to operate in is in fact not mine, but the Lords.

Leave a Reply

