Psalm 50:23 6/24/16

IBS

6/24/16

Psalm 50:23

“Those who sacrifice thank offerings honor me, and to the blameless I will show my salvation.”

Please speak to me Lord. I want to hear and know. Give me eyes to see, ears to hear and a heart to accept.

Psalm 50 is the first psalm in the book of Psalms by Asaph. Of all the verses in chapter 50, this last verse stuck out to me. Asaph says, “Those who sacrifice thank offerings honor me,” and I know I sure as heck want to honor God. This verse reveals one of the keys in doing so; thank offerings. What is a thank offering? Today I wouldn’t go to an alter and sacrifice an animal to give thanks to the Lord. Because of Jesus there is a New Covenant and a new Law. Literal sacrifices are no longer needed. However, I do think I can still lift up an offering of thanks, a sacrifice if you will, to the Lord. As I look to the Lord and offer him thanks, I am essentially making a sacrifice. It is so easy for me to be negative. Do I like to be negative? No, but it’s a human and it is a default mode that comes stock on all humans. It’s so easy to complain about situations or outcomes that are uncomfortable or not ideal. The easiest thing to do is see situations only how they will effect me. So to take my eyes off my self is a sacrifice. To raise my eyes to heaven and thank the God of the universe, my creator and savior should be the natural inclination of my heart. But because of my flesh, it’s not. It’s difficult to be Christ minded throughout the days. Have Jesus at the for-front of my mind. A battle rages every day from my mind. My flesh versus my spirit. I would love to say that my spirit dominates on the regular but that’s just not the case. At first glance my flesh has the upper hand being that I am naturally inclined to sin in my flesh. But looking again, I have to realize who I have fighting for me on my spirit side. Over and over in the Psalms it talks about God fighting for his people. He fights my battles for me, I just have to ask for his help and let him. So many times I am being bombarded by my flesh, physically, mentally, and I don’t allow the Lord to save me from my self. With all that being said, it’s hard to keep a mindset of thankfulness because it goes against my natural appetitive desires. So it literally is a sacrifice to give an offering of thanks to the Lord. Sometimes it’s easier than others but to do so I have to sacrifice my flesh; put it to death so that I can fill my mind with the Lord.

The next part of this verse says, “and to the blameless I will show my salvation.” At first glance this seems like a bleak sentence. Blameless is on the opposite side of me on the spectrum. I won’t begin to rip myself to shreds because that won’t bring the Lord any glory but what I will do is tell you why I don’t see this part of the verse as bleak as one would at first see. It says “to the blameless.” Is that me? Lord knows it’s not. But you know who is? Jesus Christ. As Romans 8:3-4 says, “For what the law was powerless to do because it was weakened by the flesh, God did by sending his own son in the likeness of sinful flesh to be a sin offering. And so he condemned sin in the flesh, in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the flesh but according to the Spirit.” Jesus came and lived the perfect life that I never could! He came lived and died for me. But it doesn’t just stop there he didn’t stay dead. Death couldn’t hold him. Hades couldn’t contain him. He rose from the dead. He is alive now and he is coming back for me! The righteous requirement was met in me. Not by me. By Jesus Christ’s blood I am seen as righteous, holy and blameless because when God looks down and sees me, he doesn’t see my stained innards, but he sees the blood of Jesus Christ and all else fades away. That’s it. Period. Jesus Christ, all else fades away.

Application: Thank offerings are essential in my walk with God. Looking up to God and praising his name for not just what he’s done, but for who he is.

How: Today I wrote “Thank Offering” on my hand so every time I look at it I will send a thank offering up to heaven.

Thank you Lord. Thank you that Jesus is everything I need.

 

Leave a Reply

