Isaiah 26:3-4 6/10/16

IBS

6/10/16

Isaiah 26:3-4

“You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you. Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord himself, is the Rock eternal.”

Lord, I am listening.

“You will keep in perfect peace…” Perfect peace, one the most wanted things in this life. Everything is go go go. Everyone is stressed out. There is no time to waste only rushing and anxiety, no such things as perfect peace let alone peace at all. This verse contradicts the mindset of the majority of the human beings with just the mere mention of perfect peace. Isaiah says “You,” being God, “will keep in perfect peace those, whose minds are steadfast…” Steadfast. What is steadfast? Unwavering, unswerving, unfaltering, dedicated, committed. Steadfast is straight ahead. You know what you’re focused on and you do everything in your power to not move from chasing it. In this case it’s my savior. Jesus Christ. God himself. Isaiah says those whose minds are unmoving on God, He will keep in perfect peace because they trust in Him. I’ve been holding on specifically to verse 3 for a couple years now. It is so easy for me to get caught up in the busyness of this hectic life that no peace can dwell within my soul and I miss the opportunities and blessings that God has for me in the present moment. I get stressed out by things that don’t matter. I worry about situations that will get resolved. I put too much weight in what people think of me. My mind so easily gets consumed by meaningless things. God says keep your mind on me and let me take care of every situation in your life. When my mind is focused on the Lord, when it is “steadfast” as Isaiah talks about, I experience perfect peace. Verse four cements this concept of keeping your mind and it’s trust on and in the Lord. It says, “Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord, the Lord himself, is the Rock eternal.” The Lord is the Rock eternal. When you’re in a ripping current, the only thing to hold onto is a rock. The rock saves you from having to succumb to the rushing power of the water. The rock keeps you unmoving amidst the ripping current. That’s what I picture when I read these verses. When my mind is swirling with the worries of the day, I can honestly say I have found peace in letting it all fade away and focusing on God in the moment. I have not mastered this by any means. I get bogged down by stresses everyday but this verse reminds me the greatest weapon I have in combatting the enemy when he tries to stress me out. Unfortunately, so many times I entertain and dwell on the lies the enemy gives me to make me worry or stress. I neglect God’s help and wallow in my anxieties. I refuse to look up for help. I let myself drown when help is offering me a life raft and towel. “You make your saving help my shield.” Says the first part of Psalm 18:35. Satan offers a ring buoy made of lead. It looks like a regular ring buoy but when you grab it, it sinks you down to the depths of the ocean. The more you try to let go the fast and faster it sinks. God offers a life raft actually made of life. New life. Renewed life. Praise you Lord thank you for always throwing me the raft no matter how many times I fall, or jump off of the boat.

Application: The only way to find peace is to fully fix my mind on Jesus. Thank you Jesus that all I have to do is trust in you.

How: I drew a ring buoy on my hand so when the enemy tries to drown me in anxieties and worries I will remember where perfect peace comes from, and how God is always reaching out to pull me from the raging waters.

Thank you Jesus that you will always pull me out.

 

Leave a Reply

