Psalm 51:8 6/3/16

IBS

6/3/16

Psalm 51:8

“Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones you have crushed rejoice.”

Please speak to me Lord. Reveal to me the secrets of Your Word.

“The Joy of the Lord is my strength.”
It’s the truest of trues.
The salvation of Jesus is priceless.
He has paid all my dues.

I can’t get through just one day without him.
Though I try daily,
He never leaves my side;
He never leaves my heart or my mind.

A war for my mind wages every second of every day.
A battle over what to dwell on, what to do and say.
I need you to fill me with you.
Don’t let any part of me be lacking truth.

Your truth, surely not mine.
Speak to me your words of Life.
The knowledge that comes from your lips,
Is the sweetest of honey as it drips.

Fill my mind with thoughts of you because
I confuse myself daily.
The spirit is willing but my flesh overtakes.
I fail but you’re never failing.

What do you truly want?
You want my whole heart.
That I would not withhold anything,
Giving myself, giving my whole heart.

God you want my heart,
And that means change.
Change means pruning,
And pruning means pain.

Give me strength to fight God,
I’m tired of relying on my fleeting strength
You died for me so I could rely on yours
For me you went to the greatest length

I’m tired fighting like I have to alone
Though I refuse your help time out and time in
You don’t stop coming every time
And showing me that when I let you, I win

“Contend, Lord, with those who contend with me;
Fight against those who fight against me.”
This is what your word has said,
“Take up shield and armor; arise and come to my aid.”

I don’t want to fight alone any longer.
Spill into every crevice of my life,
Fight not only with, but fight for me
Because fighting alone leads only to strife.

Drown me in your blood
Carbon monoxide
Because it’s for this very reason
That for me, you died.

 

“For who is God besides the Lord?
And who is the Rock except our God?
It is God who arms me with strength
And keeps my way secure
He makes my feet like the feet of a deer;
He causes me to stand on the heights.
He trains my hands for battle;
My arms can bend a bow of bronze.
You make your saving help my shield,
And your right hand sustains me;
Your help has made me great.
You provide a broad path for my feet,
So that my ankles do not give way.”
Psalm 18:31-36

Application: I cannot fight alone. But sometimes the Lord allows my bones to be crushed to bring me to a place of full reliance on Him, and not myself. So as the verse says, the bones that are crushed, are crying out to the Lord, “Fight for me.”

How: Today, I drew a sword on my hand so when I am waging war in my mind today I will be reminded of the greatest weapon I have, God himself.

Thank you Jesus that your Word is true and that you never fail.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

