John 1:16-17 5/24/16

IBS

5/24/16

John 1:16-17

Out of his fullness we have all received grace in place of grace already given. For the Law was given through Moses, grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

Lord Jesus, please speak to me despite my wicked heart. My flesh is strong, kill it.

We have all received grace. But not just grace, grace in place of grace already given. What does that mean? God, by sending his son, Jesus, to this earth demonstrated the greatest measure of grace ever given. I use the word given and not rewarded very purposefully. I have done nothing to deserve such an act of grace. The true light came to the world to give light to all. His people did not recognize him. His own creation rejected him. God’s grace says, “You are forgiven, go and sin no more.” But instead, my sinful nature lords over me. I continue to sin. I reject the grace and forgiveness that God has given me. How humbling a thought this is. I, constantly sinning, in doing so am rejecting the most beautiful gift my father in heaven has bestowed upon me. Thus, more grace is needed on a day by day, minute by minute, second by second, basis. We have all received grace in place of grace already given. The grace already given is Jesus’s victorious death and resurrection; and more grace is the daily forgiveness that he never ceases to grant me.

God I am so thankful for the grace in abundance that you show me constantly. Help me to live like am. So many times every day I reject your incredible act of grace; I reject you. I use your grace and forgiveness as a license. I think I am better than people. I have terrible thoughts. I do things that you abhor and I grieve the Holy Spirit. I don’t want to reject you or your grace. I want to live a life that reflects the gratitude I have for you. I want to live a life that points to you. I don’t just want to live like that in the open, but in the closed times, with no one around. Give me constant communion with you. Give me sober judgment of myself so I have to constantly come to you and line up my life. Line up my words, my actions, and my motives with your will.

Verse 17 says, “For the Law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.” Grace and truth, through Jesus Christ. Moses presented the Law, in the Old Testament, but Jesus Christ fulfilled the Law in the New Testament. Jesus fulfilled the Law in his perfect life here on Earth. He followed the Law perfectly so I don’t have to. So often though, I use that as a license. I know he will forgive me when I sin. I know you already have forgiven all my past sins and all the sins I will ever commit for the rest of my life. God help me. I don’t want to live in a way that grieves you counting on your forgiveness as if it were some kind of magic eraser that makes my sin as if I didn’t commit it. I know that’s what grace is. Your grace is making it just as if I had never sinned, but I don’t want to grieve your Holy Spirit. I don’t want to put you back up on that cross Jesus. I want to be holy. I realize that holy is not a destination but a journey Lord so help me stay the path. Sanctify me in your blood. Clean my stains with the permanent staining of your blood. Remind me every day of this Lord. Wash me in your blood. Cleans my spirit, as so often I desire to do the wrong thing. Overwhelm the darkness inside of me with radiant light. Fill me with your grace and truth. Keep my feet on the path you have set before me. I’m tired of looking side-to-side and falling into ravines on either side. I know your hands are on my face keeping it looking straight ahead. Give me strength to fight the desire to take your hands off so I can look away. David says in Psalm 18 that you make my feet like the feet of a deer so I can stand on the heights. Jesus stop me from jumping off. I know you steady me on the heights. I know you keep me ankles from giving way. Help me not give in to my appetitive fleshly desires to jump off the heights you have me on. This morning I experienced Psalm 18:35. It says, “You make your saving help my shield, and your right hand sustains me; your help has made me great.” You helped me fight the devils temptations. No, actually you fought the devil for me. I was ready and willing to fall into temptation. But you Lord, my gracious and all-powerful father fought on my behalf. You made your saving help my shield from the enemy. You blocked the fiery arrows from the enemy and you fired your own. Your right hand sustained me definitely not my own. “…Your help has made me great.” Certainly not my own. Your help, the only reason I can do anything. Your grace, the only reason I have the opportunity. Your love, the only reason I can keep going.

Application: In using God’s grace as a license to sin I am rejecting the death and resurrection of my friend, God, and Savior. I do not want to grieve my Lord. I want to live a life filled with life.

How: I drew a shield on my hand today so that all day I can be reminded of Psalm 18:35 in the trenches of war today.

“You make your saving help my shield, and your right hand sustains me; your help has made me great.” Psalm 18:35

Thank you Jesus for your help, your grace, and your love. Give me the aptitude to channel your strength. Remind me constantly to rely on you. Not my strength but yours Lord.

 

Leave a Reply

