Psalm 119:9-11

IBS

3/23/16

Psalm 119:9-11

“How can a young person stay on the path of purity? By living according to your word. I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands. I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.”

Alright Lord, I’ve heard these verses many times. Help me not become numb to the powerful meanings behind them. Please reveal to me your Word, your precious and Holy word. Give me insight Lord, please. I want to be wise in you. I want to have knowledge of your Word. I want to have your word hidden in my heart.

I want to be pure and stay pure, in every way possible. Physically, mentally, verbally. Unfortunately I am not most of the time. I have done things that I regret. My mind goes to terrible places in which I am ashamed. I have said things that are most definitely not wholesome and uplifting. I hate the thought of that. The scary thing is, is that it is really easy to think of myself as pure compared to the next guy. But the reality is that I am in fact the antonym of pure. So, how do I “stay on the path of purity?” Well David talks about this very concept in Psalm 119. He opens up in verse 9 with that very question. “By living according to your word,” is David’s answer. When I truly seek the Lord and follow his commands, only then can purity cultivate itself in my life. Praise be to Jesus that I can be seen as pure in God’s sight because of him. 1 John 1:7 says “But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another,” and here it is, “and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.” The blood of Jesus purifies us from all sin. Romans 8 talks about how Jesus has met the righteousness requirement for me. The gravity of that hits me every time. Jesus’s righteousness has been imparted to me! God no longer sees gross Sam, but sees me through a filter of his Holy Son Jesus. God help me to seek you with all my heart. Help me to delight in your Law oh Lord as Psalm 1 proclaims. I want to be like that tree planted by streams of water, yielding fruit and not withering. Give me a passion and desire to spend time every day seeking you. Give me a longing to read your Word daily. I want to have it hidden in my heart as David says in verse 11 of Psalm 119. I want to have scripture always coming to mind. I don’t want to grieve you Lord. I do not want to sin, but I do. Help me to combat the lies of the enemy with your word as you did in the desert in verbal combat with the devil. May scripture be what comes to mind in trial, in the fire. Please Lord Jesus I want to stay on the path of purity. Thank you that when I am not, you are. And you died for me so that I can be pure. Thank you that your purity is my purity. That because of you, I have eternal life. Thank you Jesus.

Application: I want to keep my way pure. How do I do that? Live according to the Word of God. Seek Him whole-heartedly. Hide His Word in my heart.

How: Tomorrow I will wake up at 6am to have ample time to spend seeking the Lord asking him to make my way pure and begging for his help to hide his Word in my heart.

Leave a Reply

