Philippians 3:9 3/15/16

IBS

3/15/16

Philippians 3:9

“and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through the faith in Christ – the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith.”

Please speak to me Lord.

This verse is in the midst of Paul’s letter to the Philippians. It comes with a group of scriptures where Paul is explaining to the Philippians how he puts no confidence in his flesh. After he talks about counting everything gained in this life rubbish, he goes on to say in this verse that he would rather be found in Christ than the things of this world. It is not about what he can do; rather it is what Jesus has already done. “not having a righteousness of my own,” Paul says. Meaning, it’s not about how he measures up to the law and the good things he has done, but as he goes on to say, it’s about the righteousness that is found through faith in Christ. That is the righteousness that comes from God on the basis of faith that Paul is talking about. Praise be to Jesus that I am not judged based on my own righteousness, for then I could never enter the Kingdom of God. But, as Paul says in this verse, it is through faith in Jesus Christ that I am saved! His righteousness is imparted on me! I am then seen with a filter of Jesus’s righteousness. Romans 8:3-4 says, “For what the law was powerless to do because it was weakened by the flesh, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh to be a sin offering. And so he condemned sin in the flesh, in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fully met in us, who do not live according to the flesh but according to the spirit.” Thanks to Jesus death on the cross for my sin, I am accounted with His righteousness in the sight of the Lord! Thank you God for that reminder once again.

Application: It is important to be reminded of the Gospel every day; not only for the sake of thankfulness but to remember it’s not about me. It’s about what Jesus has already done!

How: I have a piece of paper on my dresser door that says “Not Mine, but Yours” so everyday when I get dressed I am reminded that it is the Lords strength that I need to operate in, not mine. So today I will add “his righteousness” to remind me to operate not only in His strength, but his righteousness as well.

Thank you Lord for your righteousness.

Leave a Reply

