Philippians 3:10 3/16/16

IBS

3/16/16

Philippians 3:10

“I want to know Christ – yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death,”

This verse is intense Lord. Please shape my desires and the desires of my heart

This verse falls into place right after Paul finishes telling his Philippian brethren that he counts everything of this world as garbage. To contrast the things of this world, Paul continues in saying he wants to know Christ. He wants to be knowledgeable of Christ rather than the world. Paul continues with specifics. He wants to know the power of Jesus’s resurrection. Paul, daringly so, says he wants to participate in Jesus’s sufferings as well, even becoming like him in his death. Oh how I wish I could pray this in confidence. Lord what am I afraid of. I want to know you and the power of your resurrection. But if I’m honest with myself, I don’t want to participate in sufferings, let alone your sufferings, which were to the worst degree. Paul had such great faith in you Jesus I am discouraged. Help me get to a place where my prayer is to be like you in every aspect, including the sufferings that you had to endure. The last part of the verse has just hit me in a new way. It says, “becoming like him in his death.” It says “like him in his death.” Not necessarily sharing the same death but becoming like him in his death. Jesus was obedient to the father in his death. He exemplified the epitome of love in his death. He had grace for those who killed him. I think Paul looked on at Jesus’s life and saw, through Jesus sufferings and death, the kind of man he really was; which was a beautiful example of how to live life; Even more so in his sufferings in death. Jesus, I need you. I can’t become like you, without you. Help me, in the participation of sufferings to become like you. In your death, you were merciful, you were graceful, you were obedient, you were love. God help me to be those things.

Application: Jesus I want to be more like you. This encompasses every aspect of your life. Not just the good, but the bad and the ugly as well.

How: Today, when I start getting bombarded with fiery arrows from the enemy, I will turn to scripture as you did when confronted by the devil himself. I’ll open up the Bible to combat the devil with the greatest weapon of all, God’s word.

Leave a Reply

