2 Timothy 2:2 3/28/16

IBS

3/28/16

2 Timothy 2:2

“And the things you heard me say in the presence of many witnesses entrust to reliable people who will also be qualified to teach others.”

Good morning Lord. I need you today, more than yesterday. Please fill me with your spirit. Thank you for your faithfulness. Please reveal your word to me.

This is Paul’s second letter to Timothy. Paul is encouraging Timothy to “be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus,” in verse one. In verse 2, Paul is speaking to Timothy about raising up leaders. “And the things you heard me say in the presence of many witnesses.” What was is that Timothy would have heard him saying in the presence of many witnesses? The Gospel of Jesus Christ. We have many accounts in Acts alone of Paul preaching the Gospel to large crowds in many different places. What is Timothy supposed to do with the things he has heard Paul preach? Paul goes on to say to entrust it to “reliable people who will also be qualified to teach others.” So what does that mean? Paul is simply telling Timothy to raise up other reliable Christ followers so that they may teach the Gospel as well. The word reliable really stuck out to me. What is reliable? Being reliable means being dependable, consistent, Steadfast, unswerving. Am I reliable for the Lord? God I want to be like Timothy. Thank you for the Paul’s in my life that continue to pour into it. Speak to me Lord. Give me a desire to read your word. Give me a desire to talk to you. Not just in the morning, but all throughout the day. I want to be reliable in what you give me no matter how small.

Application: To be reliable for the Lord I need to be deep in relation with Him. The only way to do that is to make sure I set time aside to spend with Him. To read His word, to talk with him, and most importantly to listen.

How: These “how’s” help keep me accountable. So, tomorrow I will wake up at 6 to make sure I have a good amount of time before breakfast to spend with my Lord and Savior

Leave a Reply

