2 Samuel 11:11-13 3/24/16

IBS

3/24/16

2 Samuel 11:11-13

“Uriah said to David, ‘The ark and Israel and Judah are staying in tents, and my commander Joab and my lord’s men are camped in the open country. How could I go to my house to eat and drink and make love to my wife? As surely as you live, I will not do such a thing!’ Then David said to him, ‘Stay here one more day, and tomorrow I will send you back.’ So Uriah remained in Jerusalem that day and the next. At David’s invitation, he ate and drank with him, and David made him drunk. But in the evening Uriah went out to sleep on his mat, among his masters servants; he did not go home.”

Lord, you know I don’t feel like writing this right now. Please change my heart and give me your joy.

This passage of scripture is David’s cover up scheme in action. He has just slept with Uriah’s wife, Bathsheba, and gotten her pregnant. He now invites Uriah home from war to get him drunk to then have him sleep with Bathsheba so he thinks the child is his. Now, context aside, because that’s really how Uriah saw it, he didn’t know David was hatching a devious scheme to cover up this devious deed, Uriah made a sacrifice by not going home to his wife. Uriah knew all his men were still off to battle and were not receiving the same enrichments he was. So he decided to sleep right out side of the palace, instead of going home. He disciplined himself sacrificing his comfort to participate in the sufferings of his men. He could’ve easily went home and spent the night, no harm done right? But no, Uriah doesn’t make even the slightest of compromise. Small compromises lead to big drifts. What I mean is that if I’m constantly making one degree compromises, though they don’t look that drastic than the one degree compromise before, eventually I’ll be so many degrees off that I wont even know where the right line is. Uriah, though given a short cut, disciplined himself and refused to compromise. Ok so I got it, don’t compromise. But how do I not compromise. Instead of compromising, verse 9 says, Uriah slept at the entrance of the Kings palace. The same is true for me. In order to not compromise, I need to constantly be finding my rest at the entrance of God’s kingdom. The only way to refuse compromise is to be on the same page as Christ. I, in my flesh, can’t say no to compromise. But if I’m constantly seeking the Lord, He will help me refuse. “Delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart,” Psalm 37:4 says. This does not mean the Lord is going to give me everything I want or ask for. It means that as I delight in the Lord, reading His word and praying, His desires will then become my desires. So the things that I will than desire will only be things of the Lord. Jesus, please help me to continually sleep at the entrance of your palace and reject compromise. Help me be disciplined.

Application: On my own, I will give in to compromise every time. But with the Lord, he is my strength in rejecting compromise.

How: To reject compromise I must be spending my time at the entrance of God’s kingdom. Delighting and abiding in Him so that he can shape my desires to those of Him. Tomorrow I will fast breakfast setting that time aside to sit at the entrance of God’s kingdom and seek his face.

Leave a Reply

