Luke 17:7-10 3/1/16

IBS

3/1/16

Luke 17:7-10

“Suppose one of you has a servant plowing or looking after the sheep. Will he say to the servant when he comes in from the field, ‘Come alone now sit down to eat?’ Won’t he rather say, ‘Prepare my supper, get yourself ready and wait on me while I eat and drink; after that you may eat and drink’? Will he thank the servant because he did what he was told to do? So you also, when you have done everything you were told to do, should say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done our duty.’ ”

Lord what are you trying to show me through this verse?

Should a master thank a servant for doing his duty of serving? I think yes, but the point is, serving is his duty. He isn’t necessarily going above and beyond by serving, for it is his obligation.

It is my duty to serve the Lord, to serve others. In a sense, I’m not really going above and beyond by serving Him because as a Christian, it is my calling to serve the Lord. Now, thankfully I serve the greatest of masters. And I get the privilege of feeling him reassuringly smile at me from Heaven. It says in Matthew 25 the Lord will welcome in those who have served him faithfully saying, “Come you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom (speaking of Heaven) prepared for you since the creation of the world.” Now there is a duplicitous aspect of my service to the Lord. It is not just what I am called to do, it is a privilege to serve the Creator of all things. God doesn’t need me to further his Kingdom. Christ has been preached well before I was born and will continue to be preached after I am long gone (hopefully he comes back before than). It is a privilege that I have the opportunity to serve God. It is an honor that he allows me to be apart of His glorious master plan. Here is the thing also, because His work doesn’t need me, God is more concerned what I allow Him to do in me rather than through me. Because he doesn’t need me, but rather chooses to use me, the focus isn’t on what I can do on this earth, but how the Lord can work in my own life. I love that. It’s not about what I do. It’s about what I allow the Lord to do in me. And that will overflow into the lives of those around me in service to Him. I think of the verse Isaiah 26:12, “Lord you establish peace for us; all that we have accomplished you have done for us.” I absolutely love this verse. I have held on to it for a while. It is a beautiful reminder that it’s not about Sam. Everything that I have accomplished has been the Lord. Everything I will accomplish is the Lord. All I need to do is present my self to the Lord as an empty vessel ready for service. That is when the Lord will use me most. Not when I am focusing on all that I can do practically for Him, but as I grow in intimacy with Him, He will then open up opportunities as he sees fit for me to serve. If I can keep a healthy perspective of this concept, it is freeing. To release all control to the Lord is freeing, to not worry because God is sovereign. After telling us to not worry Jesus says in Matthew 5:27, “Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” It is pointless to worry when I serve a God who always only has my best interest in mind. It’s not always easy to do though by any means. I am constantly having to remind myself of these truths. The focus should be on the Lord, not myself. With all that said, I will serve Him with all my heart and all my soul as it says in Joshua 22:5. Thank you Jesus for allowing me to be apart of your work here on Earth. Please keep my eyes off myself, as it is from you all blessing flow. Please keep me humble in my service to you. Keep my focus on you.

How: Today during servant time, though I am feeling sick and exhausted I will serve with a smile, and without a complaint, keeping in mind that it is a privilege to serve the Lord.

Leave a Reply

