Luke 12:37-40 3/4/16

IBS

3/4/16

Luke 12:37-40

“It will be good for those servants whose master finds them watching when he comes. Truly I tell you he will dress himself to serve, will have them recline at the table and will come and wait on them. It will be good for those servants whose master finds them ready, even if he comes in the middle of the night or toward daybreak. But understand this: If the owner of the house had known at what hour the thief was coming, he would not have let his house be broken into. You also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him.”

Lord what do you want to show me? Reveal to me the secrets of your word. Thank you for being my friend.

In these verses Jesus gives an analogy. He likens himself to the master as well as us to the servants. The idea is that as his servant, I need to be busy about the things of the Lord. I’m not just talking about just practical acts of service or love that can be observed, I’m talking about my intimacy with Jesus. Jesus says we should be awaiting his return. Revelation 19 speaks of Jesus return on a white Horse. It describes him as the one called Faithful and True. His name is The Word of God. In John 1, John writes “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God and, the Word was God.” Jesus is the Word. He is coming back! The latter part of the verse explains how if the owner of a house knew at what time a thief was going to break in, the owner would do all he could to prepare for that time, as well as take every precaution to not allow that thief in his home. Then Jesus says, so it is with the Son of Man. He will come at an hour unbeknownst to us, one when we do not expect him. It’s so easy to be consumed by the things of this world and forget that the master is coming back any second! The demands of this world can cause stress and anxiety. Often times I get wrapped up in the emotional and physical demands of this world that I lose the joy of my first love. The joy that the Lord is in my life. I am alive. I am living in Guatemala studying the Bible everyday surrounded by others who desire to serve the Lord too. Jesus died on the cross for my sins. He has forgiven me for every wrong I have and will commit. He is in heaven preparing a place for me. He is coming back for me! That is the joy that I need to continue to remind myself of every day.

Application: Jesus is coming back for me. I need to be ready and watchful for his return. Thank you Jesus for the joy of my salvation. Help me grow in you. Remind me constantly of the importance of abiding in you as you are the vine and I am but the branch. It is from you that I receive anything.

How: Today, I will read John 15 to remind myself of the importance of abiding in the Lord.

 

Leave a Reply

