John 15:15 3/3/16

IBS

3/3/16

John 15:15

“I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends for everything that I learned from my father I have made known to you.”

I am a friend of God. Me. A filthy sinner. One whose mind often runs where it shouldn’t. One who acts in ways of my flesh. One who speaks hurtful words. Thank you Jesus what an incalculable blessing. As this verse says, I am not called servant. Though it is my duty as a follower of Christ to serve both him and others, I am no longer just a servant. This verse makes a very clear distinction on what a servant is compared to a friend. As it says in the beginning of the verse, a servant doesn’t know what the master is doing. The master doesn’t fill in the servant on all his plans and ambitions. But a friend, a friend of the master is one who the master shares with. The verse says instead of being called servant, or slave, Jesus calls me a friend because everything that he has learned from God the father he has made known to me! I am not in the dark about the Father’s business. He has made it known through His word. Through the quiet times that we share. Through words of encouragement from others. The Lord shares with me his plans and ambitions and allows me to take part in them! What an incredible blessing.

Application: The Lord calls me friend. Jesus has made everything that he has learned from the Father known to me. Sometimes I don’t feel like God’s friend. I feel like I am crying out to Him without reply, when in reality I am doing very little to actually seek Him. I hate that feeling. I am sorry Jesus. Thank you for your forgiveness. Thank you that you want to be my friend even when I neglect your friendship.

How: Because I have felt like death for the past week, my morning devotions have suffered. Tomorrow I will wake up at 6, without hitting snooze, to make the time to spend with the Lord.

Leave a Reply

