John 12:26 2/29/16

IBS

2/29/16

John 12:26

“Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant will also be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.”

Thank you Lord for your Word. Please reveal to me what you want me to learn from this verse.

Well, the verse starts out by saying, “Whoever serves…” What does serve mean. It’s carrying out the needs of someone else. It is to esteem someone else before you, fulfilling the needs of that individual. Now the verse says, “Whoever serves me…” This is Jesus speaking. What does it look like to serve Jesus? James 1:27 says, “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” So basically, caring for those who can’t care for themselves, and not becoming contaminated by the appetitive and carnal things of this world. What does it look like to serve Jesus in caring for those less fortunate? In Matthew 25, Jesus tells his disciples that, “… whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.” So, in serving those who are in need, you are serving Jesus. Now the next part of James 1:27, “not being polluted by the things of this world.” The opposite of being polluted is what? Being pure and undefiled. The only way to be presented as pure and undefiled is through Jesus Christ, because I am a dirty sinner. So the opposite of being polluted by the world is to remain pure in Jesus. Romans 12:2 says, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – his good, pleasing and perfect will.” It is through the continual renewal of my mind that I am made pure in Christ. Back to the study verse; so serving Jesus is aiding others and seeking him rather than the things of this world. John 12:26 goes on to say that “Whoever serves me must follow me…” It is easy to get so caught up in ministry that you forget who you are ministering to. It’s easy to serve practically. But it is much harder to purposefully seek the Lord. So in a sense, I am saying it is easy to slip into a lifestyle of serving the Lord but forgetting to actually follow him. But Jesus is saying here, in order for that service to work to its full potential, the servant must be seeking and following Him. Jesus says in doing so, serving Jesus and following him, that the servant will be where he is. And where is Jesus? He is in Heaven! Here is another promise of heaven by my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. The verse finishes by saying, “My Father will honor the one who serves me.” That is pretty self-explanatory. Jesus wraps it up with a little bow for us. God will honor those who serve Him.

It is easy, in service, to grumble and complain because I see it as serving people. But if I look at it as serving Jesus, directly, my attitude shifts. It becomes much easier knowing that by serving whomever it is I’m serving, I am serving Jesus directly.

How: Today, in whatever service I am called to do, I will neither complain nor grumble, and do each task to the best of my ability, seeing out its completion, having in mind that I am not just serving man, I am serving God.

 

Leave a Reply

