1 John 1:5-7 3/8/16

IBS

3/8/16

1 John 1:5-7

“This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.”

John starts off with a powerful statement: God is light. Where God is, there is no darkness. Darkness cannot dwell with Him or within him. He is the antonym of darkness. James 1:17 says, “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” Every good thing is from him. The “Father of heavenly lights” James calls him. The sounds like the complete opposite of darkness to me. “… all that we have accomplished you have done for us” Isaiah 26:12 says. I am a filthy sinner. I cannot do anything good in it of myself. That’s exactly what Paul is talking about in Romans 7:18. He says good itself does not dwell in him because of his sinful nature. “For I have the desire to do what is good, but cannot carry it out.” This perfectly describes my struggle. I know the good I aught to do but don’t do it. John continues with a powerful convicting statement. “If we claim to have fellowship with him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live out the truth.” I claim to have fellowship with God. But how many times am I subconsciously recanting that statement with the thoughts and actions that I do. When my sinful nature becomes evident in the disgusting thoughts and harmful actions I commit. I am not living out the truth of the gospel. But, John continues, if we walk in the light, we have fellowship with one another and we are purified by the precious blood of Jesus. I don’t want to walk in darkness. It is a dark and perilous road to go down. It is not the road Jesus wants me to walk down. I want to live in the purification of Jesus. I don’t want to continue putting Jesus back up on that cross with the sins I commit. I want to live in the light, because as John says, “he is in the light.” Because God is light, darkness cannot be in his presence. If I am living in darkness, how can I walk with God? That thought scares me. To be walking in darkness, alone, absent from the presence of my God. Jesus, help me live in the light. I am sorry for my sins. Thank you for your forgiveness Lord. May I show you the gratitude I have for you in the way I live.

Application: To live in darkness is to live without God. I want to always be in God’s presence. I want to constantly be reminded that God is with me. I want to live in the light. I’m tired of getting drowned in my dark thoughts.

The greatest weapon I have against the enemy is the awareness of Gods presence.

How: Today I wrote on my hand “Presence” as a reminder that the Lord is with me to help me fend off the fiery arrows of the enemy.

Thank you Jesus for never leaving me.

Leave a Reply

