Galatians 5:13 2/22/16

IBS

2/22/16

Galatians 5:13

“You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather serve one another humbly in love.

Lord help me see deeper than the overt meaning of this verse.

As a Christian, I am called to a life of freedom in Christ, instead of a life in bondage to sin and self. Now, freedom in Christ is more liberating than today’s average understanding of freedom. When most people think of freedom, they think freedom means they can do whatever they want. The freedom I am talking about is to see what is right, and have the ability to do it, rejecting the wrong. I have the capability, in Christ, to not do the wrong thing. I am literally free from the clutches of sin. The verse continues saying, “… do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh; rather serve one another humbly in love.” Why would this verse contrast indulging the flesh to serving one another humbly in love. Well, when I do indulge my flesh, self consumes me and I am only thinking about myself. I am literally doing the opposite of serving others humbly in love. You don’t serve others when you are self-centered, you can’t love others when you are only thinking of your self. So when I use my freedom in Christ as a tool in His hands to help me defeat my flesh, only then can I serve others humbly in love. What does it mean to serve humbly in love? For me it’s really easy to serve others, but it is more difficult to do it with the right heart. It’s easy to serve people when others are watching because people will see. There is recognition. But that is the farthest thing from humble loving service. Its not Godly love to only serve when recognition is eminent. To serve others humbly in love is not just an act I can commit. It is a lifestyle I should strive to be living daily. Only through the Lord is this possible, as I have already explained it is way too easy to get wrapped up in my flesh.

Jesus, take my self-first attitude and throw it into the depths of the sea. I want to serve others humbly in love, even when it’s hard and there is no recognition, because that’s what you did.

Leave a Reply

