Ecclesiastes 4:12 2/24/16

IBS

2/24/16

Ecclesiastes 4:12

“Though, one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”

Give me insight Lord. Reveal to me the secrets of your Word. I want to be intimate in my relationship with you.

“There is strength in numbers” comes to mind as I read this verse. If you think about it logically, it makes sense. Is it easier to defend yourself alone, or with an ally? Obviously with an ally. Why would I go into battle alone if I have someone who can aid me? The next part of the verse gives a great illustration. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken. What does that look like? So a cord, like a rope or string, is only as strong as it weakest strand. Now if it is only made up of one strand, there lies the problem. But, if the cord is made up of three, than it is much stronger. The pressure or weight is evenly distributed among the three as apposed to the one taking the whole of the pressure. I see this in my own life, with God and with people in my life. In my own life, if I operate in my own strength, it doesn’t work. The Lord has made that evident many a times. When I align myself with the Lord, that is when I cannot break. The Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit are my three-strand cord. If I hold only onto my self, a one-strand cord, I am sure to break. But, holding onto the Lord, a three-strand cord, I will not break. That is the vertical aspect of it. For the horizontal, I have been blessed with a slew of incredible Godly people in my life who care deeply for me. I have been extremely blessed with the two people I can call my parents. They have helped me in countless ways, spiritually and physically. When I have cut them out of my life is when I have gone south. That is when I have handled situations wrongly and veered of the straight and narrow path. It is when I allow them into the deepest parts of life that the enemy cannot shake me. Because in using them to add strands to my cord, they have the Lord in theirs so I am even stronger than before! Another cord that adds strength to my strand is my best friend Sean. I was reunited with my brother about 8 months ago. Sean and me were inseparable growing up but after 7th grade, Sean left Calvary and homeschooled while I continued going to school at Calvary. We slowly lost touch and no longer were in each other’s lives. I had and still have great buddies from high school, but I wanted a brother. Someone I knew I could go to for anything. Someone I knew was seeking the Lord. Someone I trusted to give good advice. A brother that I never had. (I love my sister more than any human on this earth, but I’m not going to go to her with every little struggle I have) So, about the end of June, before I went to Montana for the summer, I got an Instagram message from Sean. It said, “Bro if you ever want to hang out or something, I got a lot of free time. Just text me.” And he gave me his number. I still have the screenshot of the Instagram message. Little did I know the brother that I wanted, was always in my life. The Lord gave me Sean at the perfect time. He is a strand that strengthens my cord. As Proverbs 27:17 says, “As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” Sean, whether he knows it or not, constantly spurs me on to get deeper in the Lord.

Thank you Lord for the strands in my life that strengthen my chord.

How: Today, I will pray for the friends in my life that I know do not have strands in their life to strengthen their cord. I will ask the Lord to bring those into their life to get them on the right path and strengthen them in the Lord.

Leave a Reply

