Hebrews 13:17 2/19/16

IBS

2/19/16

Hebrews 13:17

“Have confidence in your leaders and submit to their authority, because they keep watch over you as those who must give an account. Do this so that their work will be a joy, not a burden, for that would be of no benefit to you.”

The author of Hebrews is exhorting the Hebrews in this last chapter of his letter. He encourages them to be obedient to their authority because those in authority will one day have to give an account for those they had been entrusted with. He goes on to tell them to make their leader’s work a joy and not a burden. For what benefit is it to you if you make their work a burden? I’m going to go ahead and say this exhortation applies to everyone. Everyone has someone over them at some point in time, and if we’re being honest, it’s not always easy to submit to their authority. I have been hurt by a few leaders in my past and have a bit more of a trust issue in leadership than I would like to admit. I have seen the Lord working it out but its still been tough. Sometimes I have trouble listening to authority, not necessarily in the realm of obedience, but accepting what they have to say. Are they actually practicing what they preach? Are they doing what they tell me to do? Regardless, they are in authority in my life, and what does the Bible say about authority? God has placed them there. So, I am call to make their work a joy not a burden and trust that the Lord will take care of those in leadership positions. I shouldn’t worry about those in authority over me because what does this verse say? They will have to give an account! The Lord has entrusted me into their hands, so I should let God be God and take care of the treatment of those leaders instead of rejecting or refusing to follow in step with them.

Thank you Lord for those you have placed in authority in my life. Please give them wisdom and discernment on how to lead in a manner pleasing to you. And if you decide to place me in a place of leadership, help me do the same, for it is you who give and take away when you see fit.

How: Today I will thank Austin for his leadership in Ignite and follow him doing what he tells me purposefully with joy.

Leave a Reply

