Philippians 4:11 2/11/16

IBS

Philippians 4:11 – 2/11/16

“I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.”

Observation/Interpretation/Application: This verse is pretty self-explanatory. Paul is talking to the Philippians in regards to their being concerned for him and not being able to show it. He proceeds in telling them how he has learned to be content in whatever the situation. Ok that sounds nice to an on-looker, but we have to realize who’s talking here. This is the man who, as it says in 2 Corinthians 12, was thrown in prison many times, received 39 lashes 5 times, was beaten with rods 3 times, was pelted with stones, was shipwrecked 3 times, and the list goes on. This man has been in more ridiculous situations than I could even imagine, and all for the sake of the gospel. This man has all the authority to speak on being content. How many times am I complaining about menial every day things? That is convicting.

How: Today, if any of you hear me complaining I want you to call me out.

 

Leave a Reply

