Luke 3:14 2/9/16

IBS

Luke 3:14 – 2/9/16

“Then some soldiers asked him, “And what should we do?” He replied, “Don’t extort money and don’t accuse people falsely – be content with your pay””

 

Observation/Interpretation/Application: In Luke chapter 3, John the Baptist is preparing the way for the coming messiah, Jesus. He goes on to exhort those listening to produce good fruit and not lean on the excuse that Abraham is their father. John replies to that excuse by saying “For I tell you that out of these stones God can raise up children for Abraham. The ax is already at the root of the trees, and every tree that does not produce good fruit will be cut down and thrown into the fire.” John lays the hammer down here basically telling the people that it doesn’t matter if their descendants of Abraham or not. God can do what ever he wants with whoever’s descendants he wants. That regardless, if there is no good fruit to been seen in their lives, the wrath of God awaits them. After hearing this, the people first ask John what they must do. He replies saying, “Anyone who has two shirts should share with the one who has none, and whoever has food should do the same.” Then the tax collectors ask John what they should do. He replies telling them not to take more money than they’re required to. This brings us to the study verse, verse 14. The soldiers ask John what they must do. John then replies telling them not to extort money and falsely accuse people. I at first looked at this like, “ok, I shouldn’t take money by force and wrongly accuse people.” While this is true, I looked at this verse in the chapter as a whole. The people hear of the messiah and desire to bear good fruit. They want to change their ways and do what’s right. If a tax collector, and a soldier, can hear the compelling news of the savior coming and desire to change their ways, than how much more should I?!

Jesus is coming again. He lived a perfect life for me. He died for me. And then he raised Himself from the dead for me. And he is coming back for me! I need to be busy about the works of the Lord. I need to stop operating in my own strength thinking I’m doing it right. I think of Isaiah 26:12, it says, “Lord, you establish peace for us; all that we have accomplished you have done for us.” It isn’t me. Realize that Sam, it isn’t you. Lord, help me be busy about your work.

 

How: Today I will fast breakfast, and thank the Lord for the Work he has done for me.

Leave a Reply

