Hebrews 5:8 2/15/16

IBS

Hebrews 5:8 – 2/15/16

“Son though he was, he learned obedience from what he suffered…”

Observation/Interpretation: This verse is in succession with a group of verses talking about Jesus Christ. It starts out saying, “Son though he was.” Who is son? Jesus. Son of whom? God. So, Jesus, son of the Most High God, learned obedience from what he suffered. What did he suffer? Jesus went to the cross. He endured a most gruesome death. He was obedient to the Father. He counted it Joy the Bible says. Why joy? Well not because it would be easy or fun, but because he was thinking of you and me. He was glorifying the Father. By being obedient to God and going to the cross for every one of our sins, He brought God great glory and honor. He learned obedience from what he suffered, just like the verse says. I know he wanted to die for the world’s sins but it definitely couldn’t have been an easy decision given all the pain and suffering he would have to endure. But, obedient, he did it anyways thinking of you and me the whole way through.

Application: Sometimes if I’m “suffering” in whatever it may be; I’m uncomfortable in ministry or I’m discouraged. I have the tendency to question. Is it worth it? Am I doing the right thing? Is this even what the Lord wants me to be doing? I’m reading a book right now called “On being a Servant” and it talks about this exact concept. It says “… being miserable in your place of Christian service doesn’t necessarily indicate that you’re in the wrong place, so don’t be too quick to back out. God may have put you there for your good as well as for the good of the work. Maybe he has some unfinished business to accomplish in your life.” Just because I am “uncomfortable” in what I’m doing doesn’t mean I should stop, by no means! What if Jesus stopped when the going got tuff? I sure as hell wouldn’t be going to heaven I know that is true. Thank the Lord Jesus didn’t stop but instead was obedient! When I am going through a tough time, instead of asking the Lord why, I need to be asking what. What are you trying to show me Lord? What are you trying to teach me? What are you trying to do through me? When things are painful, physically or mentally, I need to give them to God, and keep on keeping on. He won’t give me more than I can handle.

How: Today whenever my feet hurt, because I have severely flat feet, I will stop, thank the Lord I have feet, and then pray for my sisters foot. She tore her fhl tendon a while back and it has been a long painful recovery.

Leave a Reply

