Psalm 16:8 2/4/16

IBS

Psalm 16:8

“I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With Him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.”

Observation/Interpretation/Application: I keep my eyes always on the Lord. Always. What does that mean? “Always” is constantly, continuously, permanently, and eternally, never-not. “Always” is a word used by many on a consistent basis. Whether compliment, or contemptuous complaint, “Always” is a word with deeper meaning than most intend in the use of it. Keeping my eyes always on the Lord should be a picture of steadfastness, although many times, it is not. And why on the Lord? “I keep my eyes always… on the Lord.” Why doesn’t it just say “away from evil” or “on things that are good.” Well not only does this verse go on to give me good reason to keep my eyes on God, but the Lord encompasses both of those things I just mentioned. By keeping my eyes always on the Lord, evil will be but a passing whisp of wind and I will be gazing steadfastly at the definition of good. “Always” for me is unfortunately a conviction instead of lifestyle. Every stinking day I forget to keep my eyes on the Lord, always. I have an adversary that preys on me like a roaring lion just waiting to kill and destroy me. The very moment that I take my eyes off of the Lord is the very instant he will strike. I’ve seen this in too many situations in my life. Whether it has been with relationships, terrible thoughts, or unfortunately, and especially, after a great spiritual victory. I can recall times when the Lord has used me, in a way that only he could, because I know it couldn’t have been me, but after the apex I start to overpower the Lord in my head. Beginning to believe that it was me, all me. That without me, how could what just went down had happened? Wrong. That is the instant in which the enemy has struck. He has decimated and demolished me. Those are the instances in which I look back and say, “What was I thinking?” Well, Its simple really, I wasn’t. I have the God of the Universe on my team why would I not throw Him the ball. I’m sick of rejecting the rope as I’m drowning; disregarding the greatest help and salvation that anyone could ever accept. David goes on to say in this verse “With Him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.” With God, my father, my friend, my savior, at my right hand, I WILL NOT BE SHAKEN. I think immediately of Matthew 7. In verses 24-27 Jesus compares two men, both of which are building houses. However, there is a distinct difference between the two. One man is building his house on the rock and the other, on the sand. I like to think of myself as the man who builds my house on the rock. That when rain and storm come, I can stand firm because I have fixed my eyes on Jesus and seek to listen to His words. But, too many times I am a guy who builds my house on the rock but when the winds and rain come, I jump out the window and into the other little house I have built on the sand with the false pretense that it will hold better than the house I have built on the rock. What is that?! With the Lord at my right hand, I WILL NOT BE SHAKEN. It doesn’t say by the power of MY right hand, it says by the power of the Most High God AT my right hand ready to fill me with HIS power. In doing so, I will NOT be shaken. I’m sick of acting in my own strength.

How: Every time I feel my flesh taking over I will lean on Isaiah 26:3 “You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you” to remind me that I need to rely on the Lord and not my own strength.

Leave a Reply

