James 1:5 1/27/16

IBS

James 1:5

“If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you”

Observation: Obviously some, if not all of us lack wisdom in aspects of our lives; whether its Christianity, relationships, or choices in general. A lack literally means a deficiency, a shortage, an absence. The verse states that if anyone asks the Lord for wisdom He will give to all generously! Generously is speaking of the abundance in which the Lord wants to give us wisdom. Now, why does it say that He gives generously without finding fault? Because I know sure as I’m alive that I am nowhere near “without fault.” So how does that work? Because of Jesus’ I AM seen without fault. Jesus’ righteousness has been imparted to me as a result of his sacrifice. So now, because of Jesus, when I ask for Wisdom, God gives it generously to me without seeing me for the filthy sinner that I am.

Interpretation: I know for me personally I feel that I lack wisdom when it comes to the Lord’s plan for my life. However, this verse states that if I ask the Lord, he will not hold back from giving me wisdom. Because I do desire to do what the Lord wants me to do, my prayer has been for the last 4 or 5 years, “Lord, I know I want to do what You want me to do but I don’t know what that looks like, please show me and ill do.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

