Hebrews 6:12 2/5/16

IBS

Hebrews 6:12

“We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised.”

Observation/Interpretation: This verse is encompassed in an exhortation to not fall away from the love of Jesus Christ. This verse opens with “We do not want you to become lazy.”

The writer of Hebrews is encouraging the Hebrews to take a proactive stance in life. In order to imitate those he is encouraging the Hebrews to imitate, those “who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised,” the Hebrews CANNOT just sit back in hopes that that will be enough to attain what has been promised. The verse before the writer of Hebrews writes, “We want each of you to show this same diligence to the very end, so that what you hope for may be fully realized.” He is very proactive minded, which as a lazy procrastinator, I appreciate the emphasis. For if I am lazy, I will NOT inherit what has been promised. What has been promised? I continued reading to see if the writer shed any more light on this “what has been promised business.” He goes on to talk about Abraham and how he was promised blessings and decedents like the stars. So Abraham got what HE was promised. I love it; verses 13-20 go on to talk about the certainty of God’s promises. This part of chapter 6 has always got me good. The reassurance once again that God WILL fulfill his promises is always comforting to me. Hebrews 6:19 I have held onto. It is a verse that a lot of people love to put on their body along with t-shirts and memorabilia accompanied by a sick looking anchor. The first half of the verse says “We have this hope as an anchor for the soul firm and secure.” People like to say, “Yes Hope is the anchor for our soul.” But the truth is its much more than just hope. It is the hope in the certainty of God’s promises. That what he promises YOU and ME WILL come true. The second half of the verse continues in saying “It enters into the inner sanctuary behind the curtain,” continuing into verse 20, “ where our forerunner, Jesus has entered on our behalf. He has become a high priest forever, in the order of Melchizedek.” Jesus is our high priest. He is the one who intercedes on my behalf. He already has with His sacrifice for my life! He WILL fulfill what he has promised? So what has he promised me? I feel I have had many experiences with the Lord in which I can say he promised me things, but I don’t want to just say one. I want to reflect, take time to think and ponder and remember the times in which I have felt the Lord give me promises.

Application: Now to do what I have just expressed, I need to be proactive and seek the Lord and ask Him to reassure and remind me of those promises. I can’t just sit there and hope for it to be done. Unfortunately I have an innate ability to lazy really well. Waking up in the morning is a serious struggle I deal with on the daily. The alarm rings, I hit snooze, I realize how comfortable I am, the gravity around my bed is 10 times stronger, I want nothing more than to roll over and fall back asleep. As a result of this, many times I have to rush through my devotions and time with the Lord to fulfill the tasks of every day. I am unable to wait with patience to hear from the Lord.

How: So tomorrow I will wake up at 5:30, and actually wake up, not hitting the snooze button even once, so that I will have more than enough time to seek the Lord and through faith and patience so that I may be reminded of and inherit what the Lord has Promised me.

Leave a Reply

