Colossians 1:9 2/2/16

IBS

Colossians 1:9

“For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding the Spirit gives,”

Observation: Paul is writing to the people of Colossae. He tells them he hasn’t stopped praying for them since he heard of their faith in Jesus. In his prayers, Paul says he is asking God to fill the Colossians with the knowledge of God’s will through wisdom and understanding that only the Holy Spirit gives. This verse states that the Holy Spirit is the one who sheds light on the knowledge of the Lords will through the wisdom and understanding he reveals in the lives of those who follow Jesus.

Interpretation/Application: First off, I thought to myself, do I have people in my life that are praying for me in regards to the things Paul is talking about here in Colossians? I contemplated for a moment and thought of several of whom I am blessed to have in my life and so thankful that they are praying for me in that way. Sometimes however, I get frustrated in feeling unknowledgeable about God’s will. I want to know what the Lord wants me to do! For the past 4 or 5 years I have been praying for direction. My prayer has been, “Lord, I want to do what you want me to do but I don’t know what that looks like. Show me and I’ll do.” I was frustrated for the longest time feeling like I didn’t know what the Lord wanted me to do or what “my calling” is. I went to college after high school, because that’s what people do, I studied business because I had no other idea what I wanted to study. I was stuck; in a boring routine called life feeling like my existence was unbeneficial. I still loved the Lord. I still wanted to do what He wanted me to do, I just could not figure out what that looked like. Before I went to Montana for a month to serve at Selah Fellowship, I went to my cousins wedding in Massachusetts. I had a conversation with a cousin of mine at a family reception after the main reception that really helped wake me up. We talked about how I love serving God, helping people, and traveling (my cousin isn’t exactly saved mind you) and she was just asking me why I was going to school for business. Why, if those are the things I love, I was going to school and studying something that I have no passion for. Fast forward a couple weeks I was in Montana in July. The opportunity to go to Ignite was then presented. I didn’t choose to go right away, I didn’t feel the need to. But, as the month went on, I felt the Holy Spirit giving me, as the verse says, wisdom and understanding through the Bible and the people I was with. It was one night I was talking with Christian, that the Lord blew the doors wide open and I felt like the Holy Spirit had filled me with the knowledge of the Lords will changing my “show me and I’ll do mindset” to a “do it and I’ll show you” mindset. I then knew Ignite was a step of faith that the Lord wanted me to take in my life. It was such a freeing feeling after many years of prayer to feel like I knew the Lords will for my life. The crazy thing was it wasn’t a grandiose idea or calling for the rest of my life, it was only for the next year. Even still, I experienced a great peace about deciding to go. I can look back at that decision and relive the experience that I had being filled with the knowledge of God’s will through the wisdom and understanding only the Holy Spirit can give. I can look back and remember what an experience it was and this encourages and reminds me, as so many times I forget, to keep seeking! Not to get frustrated and dejected when I can’t seem to “figure out” God’s will for my life but to take it day by day. Loving God and seeking Him, loving others, and asking for wisdom and understanding that only the Holy Spirit can give.

How: Today I will take at least 20 minutes to read my Bible solely seeking knowledge and understanding on God’s will for my life from the Holy Spirit.

Leave a Reply

