Colossians 1:11 2/3/16

IBS

Colossians 1:11

“…being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience,”

Observation/Application/Interpretation: In verses 9-14 Paul is writing an exhortation to the people of Colossae. He writes to them telling them how he has not stopped praying for them since he heard of their faith in Jesus. He lists all the things in which he is praying for them for. He comes to the prayer in which he is asking the Lord to give them strength. And not just any strength as he says “according to his glorious might.” It’s the strength of the Lord. Immediately I thought of my own life, and how a lot of times I rely on my own strength. I think I can do it on my own but much to my dismay, I fizzle out at the end and end up not doing as well or being as successful as I had hoped. Why is that? Well because I am depending on my own strength! Paul is praying in verse 11 that they may be strengthened with all power according to THE LORD’s glorious might, key words, THE LORD’s, because why? So that they may have great endurance and patience! On my own strength, I cannot and will not last. I am not patient, rushing into circumstances thinking I can do it on my own. But in the Lord’s strength, I will have great endurance. I will finish! I can have a transcendent peace that allows me to wait on the Lord, acting in His strength in even the most menial of tasks.

How: I will put on my bunk bed a piece of paper that says “Not mine, but Yours” to daily remind myself when I wake up to operate not in my own strength but in the strength of the most high God, creator of all things.

Leave a Reply

